Just a quick bullet pointed post from me here, had a busy start to the week, though I don’t feel like I’ve achieved much.

  • What was supposedly a quiet weekend got busier…
  • While doing the supermarket shop on Saturday we found a very good offer on a new TV
  • But it was out of stock
  • We spent much of the rest of Saturday online with Mr H trying to find the best deal on the best TV
  • Sunday morning was a rush after Mr H dropped a glass onto the kitchen tiles shortly before we planned to go to church
  • We almost didn’t go in the end but the munchin was desperate to see her little friend
  • We did a detour on the way home to have a look at TVs in the ‘flesh’
  • And stopped at Pizza Hut for lunch
  • We realised decent TVs are still too expensive with our current finances and decided to put TV hunting on hold until our one dies completely
  • I was singing in the worship band on Sunday night and ended up having the grand total of 2 hours at home before Mr H had to drive me back over to church
  • Monday morning was spent racing around town trying to buy my nephew’s Christmas present (trying to find something my sister approves of is not easy)
  • I couldn’t find a nice wooden trolley with bricks anywhere
  • I eventually found one online in the evening but for fraud reasons they wouldn’t let me have it delivered to anywhere other than the billing address for my first order from them
  • It was too late in the evening for me to call Mum and then order it with her details (since my sister is going to Mum and Dad’s for Christmas) so I saved the page until Tuesday
  • Tuesday morning called Mum and opened the webpage to find that the price had gone up overnight (it had been on offer – 1/3 off)
  • Grrrr
  • Quick rethink as that upped the price over what we planned to spend
  • Spent yesterday morning looking for an alternative online but they were all even more expensive
  • My sister rang at lunchtime (she’d been checking Mum’s email and found details of the company we were going to use so Mum had explained it to her)
  • She’d found a nice one a bit cheaper in her local supermarket, so she’s now bought that and we owe her the money.
  • In between all this I was having phone calls from Mr H who was on his way to a job interview 140 miles away.
  • He left himself 4 hours to get there – it should take just over 2 1/2 hours
  • 2 hours after he left home he called me, he was only 25 miles away from home and was wondering if I could find out what was holding him up!
  • M25 was awful thanks to a crash which by the time I looked into it had been moved to the hard shoulder so Mr H did get moving again.
  • He had to pull over for a toilet break, it took so long, but stressed/tired boy that he is he put his bluetooth headset into the pocket of his trousers – the pocket with a hole in.
  • So we now have to buy him a new headset, but since his phone is slowly dying too we’re going to try and buy him a phone which has one packaged with it.
  • He ended up arriving 45 minutes late for the interview, which turned out just to be some IQ tests, the proper interview will be another day.
  • They did give him lunch, but only because of the time he arrived (11:45), they weren’t planning on offering him any, they haven’t offered to refund his expenses either
  • Yesterday afternoon was just spent catching up on the washing, not usually a massively difficult job except for the fact the munchkin changed the settings on the washing machine just as it was finishing so I had to start it all again!
  • We took advantage of the onsite baby sitter last night and went out for dinner, Mr H just needed a break
  • We went to the Pizza Express in the next town
  • They’d reopened last night after 3 weeks closed for refurbishing
  • They were giving out free champagne
  • Mr H was driving so I got his glass 🙂
  • It was lovely to be out together, properly relaxing.
  • It may be the last time we can use R as she moves out in less than a fortnight and the munchkin and I are going to my parents for a long weekend on Friday
  • We did get a little bit of good news in the post yesterday.
  • Mr H has inherited some money from his uncle (who died in September)
  • It may mean we do buy a TV after all as there’s enough for that and to put away some for a rainy day
  • The munchkin and I were out at our fitness class again this morning
  • Hula hooping is getting easier, but the tricks we’re supposed to be learning require rather a lot of coordination….I’m not too good at most of them!
  • The munchkin hasn’t slept yet today, she refused to nap yesterday and has just refused to settle while I’ve been writing this.
  • I hope she’s not weaning herself off naps…..I need the me time!

Anyway, I haven’t even managed to keep up with bloglines this week. I’m going to try and read a few blogs (and possibly comment…you never know) this afternoon, if the munchkin will let me.

