We had a lovely aah moment with the munchkin this week. After barely saying anything that makes any sense she’s now added Didi (Dipsy) to her repertoire 🙂 The other Teletubbies don’t get a look in, but she’ll happily say bye-bye Didi as they’re all bobbing behind their little green mounds at the end of the show. Mr H hadn’t seen that one but as she was looking at her Teletubby book with him this morning she pointed at Dipsy and said Didi and made him get a little excited.

I’m getting slightly concerned about her speech (or lack of it) as compared to her little friends she’s incrediably inarticulate. She makes lots of noises but says very few words. I’m trying not to get too worried at the moment but when I see her younger little friends naming things and putting words together it’s hard not to.

It’as easy for me to understand what the munchkin wants at any point, we’re together all day everyday and she doesn’t have to fight for my attention at all. I spoke to Mum about it and she said that my speech improved a lot when my little sister came along and I had to work a bit harder to get the attention that I wanted (hmmm…..maybe I can use that as an argument for Mr H and baby #2…….). I was the same age when L was born as the munchkin is now.

I don’t want to turn into one of the stressed out parents always comparing their child’s progress to that of others, but it’s hard not to sometimes…. I know the munchkin’s development otherwise is well on target and I just need to teach myself to look at the whole picture.

